TL;DR: In Wispr Flow free vs Infina free, Infina gives you more on a computer. Infina is hands-free voice for Mac and Windows: you talk, and it types, sends and opens apps. Holding a key and talking instead is free and unlimited, with your words tidied up on your computer, and needs no card. On Windows, tidying up your words needs 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores. Wispr Flow's free plan shows a weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words on Mac and Windows and blocks new dictations above 5,000. Hands-free typing is the paid part: 2,000 free hands-free words, then $8.25/month billed yearly ($99); unlimited voice commands are free. Wispr Flow's free plan still wins if you dictate on your phone or need 100+ languages.
Both companies offer a free way in. Here is what each one really gives you, row by row, with the limits stated plainly.
The two free plans at a glance
| Wispr Flow Free | Infina Free | |
|---|---|---|
| Free with tidy-up, no word limit | No: weekly word limit | Yes: no word limit, no card, no API key |
| Voice typing with a key on desktop | Weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words, blocks new dictations above 5,000 | No word limit |
| AI tidy-up | Not stated | Yes, on your computer: on by default on Mac; on Windows PCs with 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores |
| Voice commands | No voice command to open apps | Free, hands-free: "send it", "open Slack" |
| Hands-free (no key at all) | No, every dictation starts with a key, a click or a tap | Commands free; hands-free typing: 2,000 free words, one time |
| Works offline | No, online only | Yes, once set up |
| Phones | iPhone and Android, limited weekly dictation | No phone app |
| Languages | 100+ | English on your computer; 90+ with a paid online option |
(Wispr Flow facts from its pricing page and help docs, checked November 2, 2026.)
Word limits: a weekly cap vs none
This is the row most people come for.
Wispr Flow Free is measured by the week. Its free plan shows a weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words on Mac and Windows and blocks new dictations above 5,000 (checked November 2, 2026). On phones, the docs say "limited weekly dictation" without a number.
Two thousand words is plenty for a few messages a day. If you dictate long emails or prompt AI tools for hours, it goes fast, and the limit arrives mid-week.
Infina Free has no word limit when you hold a key to talk. Hold fn on a Mac or Right Alt on Windows, talk, let go, and your words are typed. There is no counter, no weekly reset to wait for, and no point where it stops.
Infina has one allowance: 2,000 free hands-free words, one time. That allowance is for hands-free typing; hands-free voice commands stay free.
The tidy-up: not stated vs on your computer
Wispr Flow's free plan does not say whether it tidies up your words. Wispr Flow only works online, so every dictation is processed on their servers. With no internet, there is no dictation.
Infina's tidy-up runs on your computer. On a Mac it is Tami 1, Infina's own tidy-up, on your Mac and on by default: it removes filler words and stutters and fixes punctuation and capitals, while keeping your words, names and code casing. On Windows, the tidy-up needs 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores. On a Mac, transcription runs on the Apple Neural Engine by default.
Voice commands, hands-free
Wispr Flow's free plan is a dictation tool. It has no voice command to open apps.
Infina's free plan includes commands in hands-free mode, with no key at all. Turn on hands-free and say commands back to back: "open Slack", then "send it". On Windows, "open [app]" and "send it" are the ones to start with. The commands are free, with no limit; hands-free typing comes with 2,000 free words.
More in dictation apps with voice commands.
Hands-free: the product (only typing is paid)
Wispr Flow's hands-free mode is a key toggle, so every session still starts at the keyboard.
Infina's hands-free mode uses no key at all. Sit back with lunch and say "type" plus your words: they are typed. Say "send it" and Enter is pressed. Say "open Claude" and you are in the next app. Then do it again, all from across the room. Three spoken words, nothing to configure.
Unlimited voice commands are free; hands-free typing is the paid part: 2,000 free hands-free words, one time, no card, then $8.25/month billed yearly ($99) for Infina Unlimited: unlimited hands-free words, with a 7-day no-questions refund. Voice typing with a key stays free either way.
Where Wispr Flow's free plan wins
We said this would be honest, so here it is.
- Phones. Wispr Flow has iPhone and Android apps. Infina has no phone app.
- Languages. Wispr Flow handles 100+ languages out of the box. Infina transcribes English on your computer; 90+ languages are an Infina Unlimited option.
If most of your dictation happens on a phone, or in a language other than English, Wispr Flow's free tier is the one to try.
What happens when you outgrow each free plan
Wispr Flow: past the weekly limit, the next step is Pro at $15 per user per month, or $12 per user per month billed annually, and Pro is free to try for 14 days. Pro still only works online, and dictation still starts with a key.
Infina: most people never outgrow voice typing with a key, because it has no ceiling. The upgrade is for hands-free typing: Infina Unlimited at $8.25/month billed yearly ($99). Over a year that is less than Wispr Flow Pro's $144 to $180, and it buys hands-free typing with no key at all. Full details are on the pricing page.
For the paid plans compared feature by feature, read Wispr Flow vs Infina.
Which free plan should you pick?
Pick Infina Free if you dictate on a Mac or Windows PC, you dictate more than a few messages a day, you want a tidy-up that runs on your computer, or you want to open apps and send messages by voice. That covers most people searching for a free dictation app for their computer.
Pick Wispr Flow Free if your phone is where you dictate most, or you need a language other than English with no setup.
There is no cost to trying Infina alongside whatever you use today. If you are on a PC, our guide to a free dictation app for Windows walks through setup, and a free Wispr Flow alternative covers the other free apps worth knowing.
FAQ
Is Wispr Flow free? Wispr Flow has a free tier. On Mac and Windows it shows a weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words and blocks new dictations above 5,000, and phones get limited weekly dictation. Pro is $15 per user per month, or $12 per user per month billed annually.
Is Infina free? Yes. Infina's voice typing with a key on Mac and Windows has no word limit and needs no card, with your words tidied up on your computer. On Windows, the tidy-up needs 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores. Unlimited voice commands are free; hands-free typing is the paid part: 2,000 free hands-free words, then $8.25/month billed yearly ($99).
Which free plan has more words, Wispr Flow or Infina? Infina, for voice typing with a key on a computer: it has no word limit. Wispr Flow's free plan shows a weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words on Mac and Windows and blocks new dictations above 5,000.
Do the free plans tidy up your words? Infina's does: its tidy-up runs on your computer. On a Mac it is Tami 1, Infina's own, on by default (on Windows, it needs 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores). For Wispr Flow's free plan it is not stated.
Does either free plan work offline? Infina's does, once set up. It transcribes on your computer by default. Wispr Flow only works online, so its free tier needs an internet connection.
The bottom line
On a phone or in another language, Wispr Flow's free tier is the better fit. On a Mac or Windows PC, Infina's free plan is simply bigger: unlimited voice typing with a key, tidied up (on Mac and on Windows PCs with 16 GB of memory and 4+ cores), where Wispr Flow's free plan shows a weekly-limit notice at 2,000 words and blocks new dictations above 5,000, everything on your computer by default, and 2,000 free hands-free words on top.
Download Infina free, hold fn or Right Alt, and you will know within a day. If you are deciding by how well your words get tidied up, see the free dictation app that tidies up your words.