TL;DR: AudioPen is for people who want rambling voice notes rewritten into a chosen writing style and stored as notes. Cursor Voice Mode is for Cursor users who want to speak prompts to the Agent without another app. Both make you press a key or click to start every dictation. If that is the part you want gone, Infina types on "type", sends on "send it" and switches on "open [app]", for $8.25 a month, billed annually at $99.

Here is AudioPen vs Cursor Voice Mode in 2026 on the things that decide it: price, platforms, privacy and how much your hands still do. Infina is in the third column so you can see the option neither of them covers.

AudioPen vs Cursor Voice Mode: side by side

AudioPenCursor Voice ModeInfina
Price$99/yr (Prime); also $33 per 3 months or $159 per 2 yearsCursor Free $0/month; Plus $8/month; Premium $30/month$8.25/month, billed annually at $99
Free tierFree: recordings up to 3 minutes, all writing styles, voice typing with a limited number of sessions (number not stated)Free $0/month plan exists2,000 free words, no card required
Platformsweb, Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, ChromeMac, Windows, LinuxMac, Windows
Where speech is processedOn your computer or in the cloud, by settingSent to the vendor's serversOn your computer, works offline
How you start talkingNot publishedPress a key to start and stopSay "type", or hold one key
Hands-free (no key press)No. A key or click to start each dictationNo. A key to start each dictationYes
Presses Enter by voiceNot documentedYesYes, "send it"
Opens apps by voiceNot documentedNoYes, "open [app]"
Cleans up your textYesNoYes, Infina S1 on your Mac
LanguagesNearly any spoken language; output language can differAuto-detects spoken language (since 3.19); count not publishedEnglish on your computer; 100+ with optional cloud transcription on Infina Unlimited

Prices and platforms for AudioPen were checked on AudioPen's own site on October 20, 2026 (source). Prices and platforms for Cursor Voice Mode were checked on Cursor Voice Mode's own site on October 20, 2026 (source).

Price

  • AudioPen: $99/yr (Prime); also $33 per 3 months or $159 per 2 years. Free tier: Free: recordings up to 3 minutes, all writing styles, voice typing with a limited number of sessions (number not stated).
  • Cursor Voice Mode: Cursor Free $0/month; Plus $8/month; Premium $30/month. Free tier: Free $0/month plan exists.
  • Infina: $8.25 a month, billed annually at $99. Free plan: 2,000 free words, no card required.

Platforms

AudioPen runs on web, Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, Chrome. Cursor Voice Mode runs on Mac, Windows, Linux. Infina runs on Mac (Apple Silicon) and Windows 10 or 11, with no phone app.

Privacy

AudioPen: on your computer or in the cloud, by setting. Cursor Voice Mode: sent to the vendor's servers. That is a real difference if your work is confidential.

Choose AudioPen if

  • People who want rambling voice notes rewritten into a chosen writing style and stored as notes. (AudioPen site)
  • Mac and Windows hotkey voice typing in any app with a text field
  • Very wide platform list: web, desktop, iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Chrome

Choose Cursor Voice Mode if

  • Cursor users who want to speak prompts to the Agent without another app. (Cursor Voice Mode site)
  • Built into Cursor's agent input (Cmd+Shift+Space toggles Voice Mode)
  • Custom spoken submit keywords send the prompt (any language since 3.22)

The option neither covers: hands-free

Neither of these was built for working away from the keyboard. With Infina in hands-free mode you say "type" and your sentence, "send it" to press Enter, and "open Cursor" to move to the next app. You can prompt Claude Code from across the room, or keep three agents busy while you eat lunch.

Infina, the third option

  • What it is: hands-free voice typing and voice control for Mac and Windows.
  • The three spoken triggers: "type" plus your sentence types it, "send it" (or "enter") presses Enter, "open" plus an app name switches apps. There is no fourth.
  • Hands-free mode: turn it on in Infina once, then just talk. "send it" works in hands-free mode.
  • Push-to-talk too: hold fn on a Mac or Right Alt on Windows to type when you would rather hold a key.
  • Where it runs: on your own computer. By default your audio never leaves it, and it works offline once set up.
  • Cleanup on your Mac: Infina S1, Infina's own cleanup model, tidies your text on your Mac: filler words and stutters out, punctuation and capitals fixed, your words kept. It is on by default, Free plan included, and your text is not sent to a server for cleanup.
  • Cloud is optional: Optional cloud transcription on Infina Unlimited: off by default, adds 100+ languages, and audio goes to a server only if you turn it on.
  • Platforms: Mac with Apple Silicon (macOS 14 or later) and Windows 10 or 11. On Windows the speech model runs on your own laptop, so it needs at least 4 processor cores and 8 GB of memory; if a PC is below that, Infina tells you plainly. No phone app.
  • Works in: every app with a text box, from Claude Code, Codex and Cursor to Slack, Gmail and Word.
  • Price: $8.25 a month, billed annually at $99, unlimited words and commands. Free plan: 2,000 free words, no card required. 7-day money-back guarantee.
  • Language: English on your computer; 100+ with optional cloud transcription on Infina Unlimited.

Keep comparing

Browse every dictation app comparison, alternatives to every dictation app, voice typing guides for every app, or the Infina facts and specs.

FAQ

Is AudioPen or Cursor Voice Mode better?

AudioPen is best for people who want rambling voice notes rewritten into a chosen writing style and stored as notes. Cursor Voice Mode is best for Cursor users who want to speak prompts to the Agent without another app. Both need a key or click to start every dictation. If you want to type, send and switch apps by voice alone, Infina does the full loop for $8.25 a month, billed annually at $99.

Which is cheaper, AudioPen or Cursor Voice Mode?

Cursor Voice Mode usually works out cheaper. AudioPen is $99/yr (Prime); also $33 per 3 months or $159 per 2 years; Cursor Voice Mode is Cursor Free $0/month; Plus $8/month; Premium $30/month. Check each vendor's page before buying, since prices change.

Do AudioPen and Cursor Voice Mode work on Windows?

AudioPen: yes (web, Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, Chrome). Cursor Voice Mode: yes (Mac, Windows, Linux). Infina runs on both Mac and Windows.

Can AudioPen or Cursor Voice Mode work without a hotkey?

AudioPen: No. A key or click to start each dictation. Cursor Voice Mode: No. A key to start each dictation. Infina works with no hotkey at all: say "type" plus your words, then "send it".

Bottom line

Between AudioPen and Cursor Voice Mode, pick the one whose "choose if" line sounds like you. If neither does because you want to stop pressing keys, try Infina with 2,000 free words, no card required.


The wider field, and who each tool is actually for

A head to head only answers half the question. Here is the rest of the field on one screen, with the reader each one genuinely fits.

None of these is the wrong answer for everybody. What differs is which reader each one is right for.

ToolPriceKeyboard neededPick it if
Infina$8.25 a month, billed annually at $99, unlimited words and unlimited commandsNo. Speak "type", speak the prompt, say "send it" or "enter".you want to prompt AI tools without touching the keyboard. Say "type" and the words go in, "send it" and the prompt goes, "open Cursor" and you are in the next agent. It is the only one of these that finishes the whole loop by voice in the tools developers prompt in all day.
Wispr Flow$15 a month, or $144 a year billed annuallyYes. A key to start dictating, Enter to send.you need dictation on an iPhone or an Android phone as well as a laptop, or you write in one of 100+ languages. Those are the two things Infina does not ship.
Superwhisper$8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 onceYes. A key to start dictating, Enter to send.you want to pick and swap the speech model yourself, and dictation into a text box is the whole job. It stops where the text box ends: there is no spoken send, and no spoken app switch.
MacWhisper65 euros, paid onceYes. A key to start dictating, Enter to send.the job is transcribing recorded audio files rather than talking to your computer while you work.
VoiceInk$25 to $49, paid onceYes. A key to start dictating, Enter to send.you want plain local dictation at the smallest possible price and you never need your voice to control the machine.
TalonfreeNo, once you have learned its command language.you want to drive the entire computer by voice, cursor and clicks included, and you are willing to learn a command language to get there. Talon is the serious hands-free tool on this list. Infina goes after the same freedom with three ordinary English words instead of a syntax to learn.
Apple Dictationfree, built inYes. A key to start dictating, Enter to send.you dictate a sentence here and there and do not want to install anything.

The part that is actually different: zero keypresses

The mainstream dictation apps (Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, MacWhisper, VoiceInk, Apple Dictation) are all push-to-talk: you hold or press a key to start talking, and you press Enter to send. That is two physical acts on every single prompt. A hundred prompts in a day is two hundred keypresses that exist only to start and stop the tool. Infina removes both of them. Nothing is held, nothing is pressed, and the same loop runs on three spoken words.

There are three triggers and there is no fourth. "type" types, "send it" sends, "open" opens and switches apps. The send trigger answers to either wording, "send it" or a plain "enter", whichever you find yourself saying. That is the entire vocabulary: no command language, no grammar, no custom scripts to write, nothing to memorize beyond those three words.

When Infina is not the answer. If you need dictation on an iPhone, an iPad, an Android phone or Linux, Infina is a Mac and Windows desktop app and there is no phone version. Wispr Flow covers phones.

Everywhere else, the difference is the loop. Every other tool in that table types words into a box and stops, leaving your hands to press Enter and pick the next window. Infina finishes it: say "type" and your sentence, say "send it" (or just "enter"), say "open Cursor", and keep going without a key.

Quick answers

What are the trigger words in Infina? Three. Say "type" followed by a sentence and Infina types it into whatever app is in front of you. Say "send it", or just "enter", and it presses Enter, so the prompt actually goes. Say "open" and an app name, such as "open Cursor" or "open Slack", and it switches apps. That is the whole loop, and none of it needs a hotkey or a key held down.

Can I use Claude Code or Codex without touching the keyboard? Yes, with Infina running in hands-free mode. Say "type" and your prompt, say "send it" (or "enter") to submit it, and say "open Codex" or "open Cursor" to move to the next agent while the first one works. Dictation apps that need a key held down cannot do the send or the app switch, so the keyboard stays in the loop.

Is there a dictation app that does not need a hotkey or push-to-talk? Infina, in hands-free mode. The mainstream dictation apps (Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, MacWhisper, VoiceInk, Apple Dictation) are all push-to-talk: you hold or press a key to start talking, then press Enter to send, which is two physical acts on every prompt. Infina removes both. Say "type" and your sentence, say "send it" or "enter", say "open Cursor". Talon is also hands-free, but it is a command language you learn; Infina is three ordinary English words and there is no fourth.

Is Wispr Flow or Infina better? Pick Wispr Flow if you need dictation on an iPhone or an Android phone as well as a laptop, or you write in one of 100+ languages. Those are the two things Infina does not ship. Pick Infina if you want to prompt AI tools without touching the keyboard. Say "type" and the words go in, "send it" and the prompt goes, "open Cursor" and you are in the next agent. It is the only one of these that finishes the whole loop by voice in the tools developers prompt in all day. Wispr Flow costs $15 a month, or $144 a year billed annually; Infina is $8.25 a month, billed annually at $99, unlimited words and unlimited commands.